Google Plus Warns Users to Backup Their Account Data

As Google Plus is going to shut down its consumer version, it has warned all the users to take their backup before 2nd April, 2019. Otherwise, the data will be DELETED.

The winding up of Google Plus was announced in October, 2018 with the cited reasons like low user engagement and API bug that leaked user information. From March 18, 2019, Google has started emailing Google+ users to download their data before it becomes deleted as part of its shutdown. If you are a Google Plus user, you must have received this warning email that looks like this…

“You’ve received this email because you have content in Google+ for your personal (consumer) account or a Google+ page you manage.

This is a reminder that on April 2, 2019 we’re shutting down consumer Google+ and will begin deleting content from consumer Google+ accounts. Photos and videos from Google+ in your Album Archive and your Google+ pages will also be deleted.”

The email also assures that the data saved on other Google product like Google Drive, YouTube and Gmail won’t be affected.

One more thing—MAKE SURE to download your data before March 31st, 2019 as downloading Google+ content may take time.

How to Take Backup of Your Google+ Data

  • Visit Google+ Data Download page.
  • Select the data categories you want to save. Or you can put a checkmark in all of them.
  • Click on Next Step
  • Choose how you want your data delivered, whether in email, Dropbox, OneDrive or Box.
  • Once you are done, click on the Create Archive option and your data will be archived.

For more information, please visit HERE.

You Can Also Retrieve Data from Deleted Google+ Accounts

If you have deleted your Google+ account or Google+ page, you can find your content like photos and videos in your Album Archive while your Google+ Events won’t be deleted.

Leave a Comment